top of page

Blueberry Coconut Milk Smoothie Recipe

My kids happen to be very picky when it comes to protein powders. In fact, they don’t generally like protein powder in their smoothies at all. That’s totally okay by me, as I simply sneak 1-2 superfood smoothie ingredients in and call it good. That being said, my kids have become suspicious of what I might put in their smoothies when they’re not looking. I still haven’t told my daughter that I put raw egg yolks in her blueberry coconut milk smoothie, but when I leave them out she says “Somethings different, it’s not as creamy.” So I consider that “permission.” 😉

My daughter and I are sensitive to both dairy and casein, so that adds even more of a challenge when it comes to making a smoothie creamy and filling. Luckily coconut milk comes to the rescue. However, in order to get a little bit of protein in there, I have to get creative. I could use soaked cashews, almond butter, or peanut butter powder, and I do sometimes. However any time I see an opportunity to sneak discretely add some gelatin into my kids diet, I take it! 

Gelatin is a surprising and extremely healthy source of protein, and contains zero carbs and 6 grams of protein per tablespoon. A fabulous source of collagen that is great for strong bones, teeth and joints.  As it is derived from the bones, joints and cartilage of an animal, it is very important to buy gelatin from a reputable source. Click here for the only gelatin that I buy.

Although there is no orange juice in this smoothie, my husband claims this tastes like the Blueberry Orange Julius of his childhood. 

My daughter loves this alongside a sausage patty for breakfast, or as an after-school snack. I love it because its quick, simple to blend up, and nutritious as well.


5 from 1 reviews

Blueberry Coconut Smoothie Recipe

Prep time

5 mins

Total time

5 mins

This creamy blueberry coconut smoothie is healthy, filling and kid approved!

Author: Alison

Recipe type: smoothie

Serves: 1

Ingredients

  1. 1 cup coconut milk (or milk of your choice)

  2. 1 Tbs. gelatin

  3. ¼ cup fresh or frozen blueberries

  4. ½ frozen banana

  5. 1-2 raw egg yolks (optional)

  6. ¼ cup ice

  7. 2 drops liquid stevia

  8. ¼ tsp vanilla

Instructions

  1. Place the coconut milk in the blender and sprinkle the gelatin over the milk.

  2. Let it absorb for a minute or two, then add the other ingredients.

  3. Blend and serve immediately!

Nutrition Information

Serving size: 1

3.2.2807

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page