top of page

Homemade Marzipan Recipe

Updated: Feb 22, 2020

I’m a sucker for marzipan. Wrapped in homemade dark chocolate, in the middle of a croissant, or just plain, marzipan is a winner in my world. A few years ago I took a class and learned how to make homemade marzipan. It’s easier to make than you might think, let’s you control the level of sweetness, and is a great springboard for all sorts of creative and delicious uses.


Please note that I’ve always made this in my food processor, but I’m going to try making it in my Vitamix next time, as I think I’ll get even smoother (texture) results. It’s REALLY important to grind the blanched almonds in the food processor until they are as fine as you can get them, as they will not reduce in texture once the other ingredients are added.


Speaking of blanched almonds. Did you know that you can save A LOT of money by making your own? It’s very simple. If you can boil water, you can blanch almonds!

Here’s a link to my video on how to blanch almonds:


Here’s a quick video in which I share my Homemade Marzipan Recipe:



Homemade Marzipan Recipe


Prep time

15 mins

Total time

15 mins

This healthy, homemade dessert is easy to make, versatile, and super yummy!

Ingredients


  1. 3 cups *blanched almonds

  2. ½ cup honey

  3. 2 Tbsp. lemon juice (fresh is best)

  4. 1 tsp. almond extract

  5. 2 Tbs. water

Instructions

  1. Process almonds in a food processor until very fine and almost paste-like.

  2. With the food processor running, slowly add the honey, lemon juice, almond extract and 1 tsp. water.

  3. Process, adding water a little bit at a time until the mixture forms a paste.

  4. Remove marzipan mixture to wax paper or plastic wrap.

  5. Roll into balls or shape into a log (using plastic wrap), and refrigerate overnight.

  6. Dip in melted chocolate if desired, or slice and serve.

Notes

*Store bought blanched almonds will already be dried, however if you make them at home, be sure to dehydrate them using a dehydrator or cool oven.

3.3.3077

Want more Paleo, gluten free, egg free, dairy free, refined-sugar free dessert recipes?

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page