top of page

Paleo Pie Crust Recipe

I think we all agree that pie crusts must be tender, flaky, and never soggy. This can be a tall order to fill when you’re not using traditional ingredients like flour, and recipes that have withstood the test of time. When I first started developing a Paleo pie crust recipe, I got it exactly right. It was perfect! However, when I tried, and tried, and tried to replicate it, I failed. I finally put it away for awhile and tried out other people’s recipes. The problem was that just about everybody puts egg in their Paleo pie crust recipes, and I have found that eggs make pie crusts (made with almond flour) tough. They’re bendable (vs. flaky) after they’ve been cooked, and well, they’re just not up to snuff. 

Recently I saw another recipe online for a grain free pie crust that was almost exactly the same as the recipe that I’d come up with, but, again, it called for an egg. It got me in a huff ( I loathe bad recipes- wasted time and ingredients is a pet peeve of mine) so I got my old recipe creation out once again, tried it with my Home Rendered Lard, and voila, the perfect Paleo Pie Crust recipe came to life!

Now, if you’re still nervous about using lard, or just don’t have it on hand, then feel free to substitute Palm Shortening (resource here), coconut oil, or possibly (I haven’t tried it) butter.

The other thing that I love about this Paleo pie crust recipe is that you don’t have to pre-bake it. Making pecan pie? Simply press in the pie crust, fill, and bake. Making a lemon chiffon pie? Pre-bake the crust, fill and serve. It’s that easy! If you’re looking to make a pie that has a top crust such as apple, or strawberry rhubarb, then you’ll need to double the recipe and go for more of a lattice, or cut-outs laid together on top, as this crust can be rolled out, but not trusted to stay together upon transfer.


Easy Paleo pie crust recipe made with almond flour and NO eggs. www.healthnutnation.com

Press in, flute the edges, and either fill or bake. It’s SO easy!


Here is my Paleo pie crust filled with pecan pie (recipe to come!).


5 from 1 reviews

Paleo Pie Crust

Prep time

10 mins

Cook time

20 mins

Total time

30 mins

Tender, flaky, and complimentary. My Paleo pie crust made with almond flour, is the perfect vessel for any pie filling.

Author: Alison

Recipe type: Paleo

Cuisine: dessert

Serves: 1

Ingredients

  1. 2 cup almond flour

  2. ¾ cup arrowroot powder

  3. ¼ tsp. salt

  4. ¼ cup lard, palm shortening,coconut oil, or butter - cold and cubed

  5. 1 Tbsp. maple syrup (honey or other liquid sweetener may be used instead)

  6. 3-6 drops liquid stevia

  7. 2½-3 Tbsp. ice water

Instructions

  1. In a food processor, combine almond flour, arrowroot and salt. Pulse to combine.

  2. Add lard/fat of choice, pulsing between cubes.

  3. Add maple syrup and stevia and pulse to combine

  4. Finally, add ice water, 1 Tbsp. at a time, until the dough just barely starts to come together. (Be careful not to over-process. It's okay to stop when it's crumbly and pull together by hand.)

  5. Press into a 9" pie plate and refrigerate while oven preheats to 325° F.

  6. Bake for 20-30 minutes, or until just barely golden brown.

  7. Alternately, fill and bake, using a pie crust shield so edges don't burn.

3.2.2807

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page