top of page

Simple Caramel Braised Pears

I used to believe that it wasn’t really a dessert if fruit was the starring attraction. As I’ve gotten accustomed to eating less sugar, my taste buds have changed, and I often prefer a fruit based dessert over a rich and often, too sweet, dessert. Just as I now prefer dark chocolate to milk chocolate. My palate has “matured.” Enter, Simple Caramel Braised Pears.

Every fall my little Bosc pear tree that is sandwiched in the shade behind my ginormous apple tree (planted too close by previous owners- I take NO responsibility here!) and a large evergreen, grows a few hidden gems. Hiding among the foliage, I am always delighted to find that a few of these succulent and hardy pears have managed to get enough light to actually grow. This year I had a downright stellar year and got 15 pears!


Learn how to make Simple Stove-top Braised Pears. Dairy free, gluten free, egg free, Paleo

My husband immediately reminded me of my Simple Caramel Braised Pear recipe that we both love. Elegant enough for company, but easy enough to throw together on a weeknight, braised pears are hard to beat. Plus, they’re super versatile. I love to change it up by braising in apple cider and drizzling with caramel sauce, or apple caramel sauce (both recipes are available in my eBook, The Paleo Sweet Tooth).  For a fancier approach, top the pears with a scoop of dairy free vanilla ice cream and toasted coconut flakes. Yum!

Here’s a quick video showing you just how easy Simple Caramel Braised Pears are to make!


Oh, and don’t forget, this is a Paleo, gluten free, nut free, egg free, and dairy free dessert!

5 from 1 reviews

Simple Caramel Braised Pears

This simple yet elegant dessert can go from pan to spoon in less than 20 minutes.

Author: Alison

Ingredients

  1. 3 Bosc (cooking) pears

  2. 1-2 Tbs. butter, ghee, or coconut oil

  3. 1- 1½ cup full fat canned coconut milk

  4. 2-3 Tbsp. coconut sugar or organic brown sugar

  5. dash sea salt

  6. ½ tsp. vanilla extract

  7. dash of cinnamon (optional)

  8. dash of freshly grated nutmeg (optional)

Instructions

  1. Slice pears in half diagonally, strip stem and core using a melon baller or spoon.

  2. Over medium to medium low heat, melt butter in a medium sized stainless steel skillet. Place halved pears, face-side-down in the pan.

  3. Pour canned coconut milk over pears, so that it comes about half way up the sides up the pears.

  4. Stir in coconut sugar and salt. Spoon sauce over pears, and bring liquid to just under a boil.

  5. Turn heat to low and let simmer until sauce is thick and pears are fork tender, spooning sauce over pears frequently. This should take around 7-10 minutes.

  6. Remove from heat and stir in vanilla.

  7. Plate and grate nutmeg and cinnamon over pears.

  8. Serve immediately.

3.3.3077

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page