top of page

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

Years ago my neighbors brought over a Strawberry Rhubarb Pie. Never having tasted one before, I was blown away by the combination of tart rhubarb and fresh sweet strawberries. How had I been missing out on such a treat for 30+ years?! Ever since, Strawberry Rhubarb Pie has climbed, and maintained a spot at, the top of my favorite pie list.

Now, once a year, when the rhubarb and strawberries are ripe and ready, I make a Strawberry Rhubarb Pie. It’s become somewhat of a tradition that ushers in summer with it’s rosy reds and beautiful flavors. It’s also one of the last times that I know I’ll be able to comfortably turn on my oven! 

Last year tradition was broken, as I realized that along with wheat and gluten, pie was no longer on my list of foods that I was able to eat. Never one to let reality hold me back, I worked and experimented until I had perfected my gluten free pie crust recipe. Once again, I was able to usher in the bounty of summer with a Strawberry Rhubarb Pie (gluten free this time!). Hallelujah!


Usher in the bounty of summer with a glorious strawberry rhubarb pie. Gluten and dairy free.

Look at those gorgeous deep reds, and that light, flaky crust. It’s gluten free!


Usher in the bounty of summer with a glorious strawberry rhubarb pie. Gluten and dairy free.

This is what I call a delicious “mess o’ pie.” It happens more often than not in my household, as patience is not a virtue that children (and husbands) are especially good at. Not only is the whole cooling process painfully slow,  then there’s the never ending plight of a poor food bloggers child…. the photo shoot! I’ve got to say it somehow tastes better when the ice cream melts into the pie and it all becomes one luscious, well…. mess!

Notes on Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

Please note that the ratio of rhubarb to strawberries is never exactly the same. If I have a smaller stalk of rhubarb and more strawberries to use up, I’ll use more strawberries and less rhubarb. If it’s vice versa, then I use more rhubarb, and hence, more sweetener.

Speaking of sweeteners, you’ll notice that I use a combination of organic cane sugar and stevia. I find that too much stevia becomes bitter and has a chemical type of taste, but when combined with sugar, and used to simply “up” the flavor profile, I find that I cannot taste it. That being said, if you are not a fan of stevia, feel free to use about 1/4 cup more sugar, xylitol, erythritol/Swerve, or a sweetener of your choice.

Please read the notes in the actual recipe as well as I go into more detail as to ratio, sweetness level, and ingredients used.

Want to make it Paleo? Simply use my Paleo Pie Crust Recipe, here.

If you need a little reminder as to how a double crusted pie goes together, simply click here for my gluten free apple pie recipe which has a step by step picture tutorial.


5 from 1 reviews

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie (gluten free)

Prep time

30 mins

Cook time

45 mins

Total time

1 hour 15 mins

Usher in summer by combining the first fruits of the summer in a luscious and flavorful pie.

Author: Alison

Recipe type: Dessert

Cuisine: American

Serves: 1

Ingredients

  1. 5 cups mix of strawberries and rhubarb*

  2. ½ to 1 cup organic sugar**

  3. 1 packet, scoop or ⅛th tsp. powdered stevia or about 15 drops liquid stevia

  4. pinch sea salt

  5. 3 Tbsp. instant tapioca (click here for a brand that is soy free)

  6. ¼ tsp. ground cinnamon

  7. pinch ground or grated nutmeg

  8. 1 Tbsp. freshly squeezed lemon juice

  9. 1 teaspoon lemon zest (optional)

  10. 1 recipe pie shell for a two-crust pie (here's my gluten free pie crust recipe)

  11. 1 egg, beaten (optional- this simply makes the pie crust a golden brown. You can also use milk or cream)

Instructions

  1. Roll out two pie crusts. Fit one into a 9-inch glass pie pan, and place the other on a rimless baking sheet. Refrigerate both until needed.

  2. String rhubarb, then cut into ½" slices. Hull strawberries; slice in half or leave whole.

  3. Gently toss fruit with sugar, tapioca, salt, and spices.

  4. Stir in lemon juice and zest and pile into the rolled-out shell, making the pile a little higher in the center than the sides.

  5. Dot with butter.

  6. Cover with top crust.

  7. Decorate the edges with a fork or your fingers. (See how I do it in this post)

  8. Refrigerate while you preheat the oven to 375° F.

  9. Place the pie on a baking sheet and brush the top lightly with egg wash; sprinkle with sugar.

  10. Use a sharp My favorite paring knife of all times! to cut two or three 2-inch long vent holes/slits in the top crust. This will allow steam to escape.

  11. Place in oven and allow to bake for 45-60 minutes or until the fruit is bubbling and the crust is golden brown. If the crust gets too brown and the fruit is not yet bubbling, simply place a sheet of foil over the pie and continue to bake.***

  12. Cool on a wire rack before serving warm or at room temperature.

Notes

* I generally use 3-4 cups strawberries and 1-2 cups rhubarb. If using more rhubarb, you'll need to increase the amount of sweetener you use by (at least) two tablespoons sugar per ½ cup rhubarb used. ** I generally use ½ cup sugar and 1 packet stevia. However, my taste buds have been acclimated to being very sensitive to sugar, so you may find that this is not sweet enough for you. Don't be afraid to use the full cup of sugar if serving to guests or if you don't want to risk a sour pie. ***Do not under bake, as under cooked rhubarb is NOT good!

3.3.3070

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page