top of page

Sweetened Condensed Coconut Milk

Having recently moved to the Eastern side of Washington state, we’re on the hunt for an excellent Thai restaurant.  My husband was sipping a Thai iced tea (which we’ve found is pretty darned hard to mess up, so if the tea is bad, RUN! The food is only going to be worse!) and perusing the menu. Wishing that I too could enjoy one of these delectable drinks, I had the stark realization that I COULD enjoy a Thai iced tea, or even a Thai iced coffee. All I had to do was get my hands on some sweetened condensed coconut milk, buy the tea at Cost Plus World Market, and I was good to go! 

Since I now live on the eastern side of Washington state (where finding dairy free options is a bit more challenging), I had to order the sweetened condensed coconut milk online. Syrupy sweet, and way too delicious for my own good, I decided to try my hand at making my own. 

I looked at various recipes online which mostly called for honey or maple syrup. Since I try not to use honey in any application where it is heated much (it ruins the beneficial properties), and maple syrup imparts it’s own particular flavor, I decided to go back to basics and use good ‘ol sugar (organic of course- no GMO’s for me).

To make it Paleo, one could easily use coconut sugar in place of regular sugar, but be aware that you’ll have more of a dulce de leche flavor as coconut sugar imparts serious notes of caramel.

Please note that I use a minimal amount of sugar in this recipe. If you don’t find it sweet enough, it’s easy to up the level of sweetness at the end with a few drops of liquid stevia.

Below you’ll find the video in which I show you how to make homemade Sweetened Condensed Coconut Milk. The recipe is super easy, but it helps to see what the consistency should look like. Plus, you’ll see a birds eye view of my new kitchen, and the spectacular sunsets we experience on most clear evenings!



5 from 1 reviews

Sweetened Condensed Coconut Milk

Cook time

2 hours

Total time

2 hours

Make sweetened condensed coconut milk using 2 simple ingredients, for a fraction of the cost. You get to control the level of sweetness and quality of ingredients when you make this simple recipe!

Author: Alison

Recipe type: dessert, condiment

Cuisine: American, Thai

Serves: 8 ounces

Ingredients

  1. 1 can (13.5 oz) full fat canned coconut milk*

  2. ¼ cup sugar or coconut sugar

Instructions

  1. In a small saucepan over medium heat, bring coconut milk up to just under a boil.

  2. Add sugar, stirring to dissolve.

  3. Turn heat down to low and let reduce by half, stirring every half hour to hour (about 2 hours).

Notes

*I do NOT recommend Trader Joe brand coconut milk as it just doesn't seem to work in this recipe.

3.3.3077

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page