top of page

Grilled Hamburger Kebabs

Like most kids, my kids are suckers for anything that resembles a meatball and can be eaten without utensils. That’s one of the many reasons why Grilled Hamburger Kebabs have become a favorite at my house. Typically, you’ll see minced or ground lamb used in this fashion, however ground grass fed beef is what’s popular at my house.

I love ground beef. It’s inexpensive, versatile, and nutritious.  Beef has really increased in price this year so to keep grass fed ground beef costs to a minimum, I go in with a big group of people, buy a whole (butchered) cow, and grind it ALL up into hamburger (this keeps butchering costs to a minimum). The butcher packages it up into 1 lb tubes, and we all stock up. Everyone says it’s the best tasting hamburger they’ve ever had, and we all appreciate that it’s grass fed beef from a local farmer. It’s a win-win!

Because we have so much hamburger in the freezer, we it it often, very often. Now my kids are like all kids and are satisfied with having a hamburger every night of the week, but my husband and I quickly tire of the monotony. So when I took a BBQ cooking class at my local co-op and the idea for Grilled Hamburger Kebabs was shared, I went home and made them the very next day! Of course, I can’t follow a recipe for long, and thus came up with my very own recipe. 🙂

Easy to throw together, versatile, and inexpensive, Grilled Hamburger Kebabs just might become a staple at your house too!

5 from 1 reviews

Grilled Hamburger Kebabs

Prep time

20 mins

Cook time

4 mins

Total time

24 mins

These tasty morsels make a great appetizer, a savory meat to toss on top of a salad, or wrap in mini buns for a slider.

Author: Alison

Recipe type: dinner or appetizer

Cuisine: American

Serves: 10

Ingredients

  1. 1 lb ground beef (or mix ground meat of your choice- lamb, chicken, turkey, pork)

  2. ½ cup minced onion

  3. 3 cloves garlic, minced

  4. 2 tsp. Kosher sea salt

  5. 2 tsp. freshly ground black pepper

  6. 2 tsp. taco seasoning* (I buy mine in the bulk section)

  7. 15-30 6-inch bamboo skewers, soaked in water for at least 15 minutes

  8. High- heat oil (such as avocado oil), as needed

Instructions

  1. Preheat the grill to 400° F.

  2. In a large mixing bowl, mix together the beef, onion, garlic, Kosher salt, pepper, and taco seasoning. Take care to just emulsify the ingredients but not overwork them.

  3. Divide the meat mixture into 32-35 little dumplings.

  4. Skewer each (usually 1-2 will fit) one through the middle, pressing the meat on if it seems loose.

  5. Scrub the grill grates and wipe clean with an oiled cloth.

  6. Very lightly brush the skewers on all sides with a little oil.

  7. Grill over direct heat for about 2 minutes on the first side, and about 1 minute on the other side (for medium done-ness).

  8. Serve immediately with dipping sauce of your choice.

Notes

*I often vary the spices that I use. If I'm going to serve with a BBQ sauce, I'll omit the taco seasoning and just use salt and pepper and maybe a little smoked paprika and cayenne pepper. One could also add bacon bits and shredded cheese. These are very versatile, so consider this a canvas and you're the artist!

3.3.3077

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page