top of page

Hawaiian Summer Salad Recipe

Living in Seattle can be a bit gray sometimes, well, let’s be honest…. it is gray most of the year. And even though I’d love to jump on a jet plane and set off for Hawaii with my husband and kids, life just doesn’t allow for it. So, I take my vitamin D drops, sit under my “happy light” and create dishes that make me feel like I’m sitting at a beach side cafe in Maui with the sun warming my back….. oh wait, that’s just my space heater that came on…I digress.

I created my Hawaiian Summer Salad by combining ingredients that make my taste buds at least feel like they’re in the tropics. Completely Paleo, grain,dairy, and egg free this salad is great when topped with diced mango, pineapple or papaya!

Hawaiian Summer Salad

  1. mixed greens of your choice, torn into bite-sized pieces

  2. 1/4 avocado-diced

  3. coconut flakes– toasted (I toast mine in a 350 ° oven for a few minutes- stirring frequently)

  4. 1 Tbs chopped fresh cilantro

  5. 1/4 cup langostino tails, shrimp, prawns, or chicken (can be used cold, or heated up in a pan with butter and lemon)

  6. macadamia nuts– toasted and lightly salted

Dressing:

  1. 1 Tbs macadamia nut oil (brand I use)

  2. 1 Tbs white balsamic or mango balsamic vinegar (purchase here)

  3. sea salt (brand I use)

  4. pepper

Combine salad ingredients in a bowl. Toss gently to combine. Top with macadamia nut oil, white balsamic vinegar (or mango balsamic vinegar), salt and pepper. Enjoy!

*Add a few pieces of fresh pineapple, diced mango, or mandarin oranges to make this salad even brighter!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page