top of page

How to Make Raw Coconut Yogurt

I don’t know about you, but one of the hardest things about being dairy free is not being able to eat yogurt. It’s portable, healthy (as long as you’re not getting the sugar-filled kinds), and filling. So when I started experimenting with the meat of young coconuts, and figured out how to make Raw Coconut Yogurt, I was thrilled!

I typically ferment the water from a young coconut for a probiotic rich drink, then scoop out the flesh, Remove any brown skin left on the meat, and blend it up. If I just want a little dessert I add a couple drops of stevia, and some vanilla and make it into a pudding (the recipe is in my ebook The Paleo Sweet Tooth, get it here). If I want a probiotic rich yogurt, then I proceed as stated in the directions below.

Another way to jazz up this little number, and to make it even more filling, is to add a cup of raw cashew milk to the blender (no need to add more probiotics). You can learn how to make raw cashew milk here.


5 from 1 reviews

Raw Coconut Yogurt

Prep time

20 mins

Total time

20 mins

Made from the meat of the young coconut, it’s a snap to make, is full of probiotics, and is super healthy and delicious.

Author: Alison

Ingredients

  1. 2 cups young coconut meat (you can purchase this in the freezer section of your local Asian market, or, learn how to choose and open a young coconut here.

  2. 2 capsules *probiotic powder (opened, discard actual capsule) or, ¼ tsp loose probiotic powder

  3. ¼ cup coconut water, kefired water, or filtered water

Instructions

  1. Add all ingredients to a Vitamix, blender, or food processor. Process until smooth and creamy, adding more coconut water until desired consistency is achieved (should be like drinkable yogurt/kefir).

  2. Pour contents of blender into a quart sized mason jar, or container that allows the yogurt to expand by at least ⅓ in volume.

  3. Cover with a screw on lid and “finger” tighten. Place in a bowl or on a plate (in case of over-flow), and leave in a warm place (I leave mine in my electric oven with the oven light on- about 90° F) 6-12 hours.

  4. Remove from warm place, opening carefully over bowl (mine often pops out and overflows when I open the lid), stir, and store in fridge.

Notes

Because of the probiotics, this yogurt is quite stable when refrigerated. I have a jar that has been in my refrigerator for over a week and it is still perfect. *In the video you can see that the young coconut meat I added was still partially frozen. This helps keep the temperature from raising when processing in the high speed blender. If you use fresh young coconut meat that is not cold you may want to wait until the very end to add the probiotic powder so that it is not “killed.” This yogurt is quite tangy. I like to use mine in smoothies, or drizzled with maple syrup and toasted pecans.

3.2.2807

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page