top of page

Peanut Sauce Recipe

Not a fan of broccoli? Me neither. Yet just about everyday I get something in my inbox touting it’s virtues. Even my Naturopath is out to get me to eat more of this super food. No one ever said that I have to eat it plain though. In fact, a little fat helps absorb all of those vitamins and nutrients that this green cruciferous veggie has to offer.

Although I have managed to make a cheese sauce from raw cheddar and cream cheese that my family adores, I’ve had to be a bit more creative since going dairy-free. I do adore ghee or butter and pink Himalayan sea salt on broccoli, but my kids (and let’s just tell the truth here, my husband) need a bit more of a disguise.

Recently I came up with the perfect solution. Peanut Sauce! I just whipped some up, mixed a dollop into my steamed broccoli, and promptly vowed to never again eat those little green trees without this delectable solution. Why would I? It’s that good!

Peanutty Peanut Sauce Recipe

3 Tbs. sesame seeds (*toasted if you want to be fancy)

1/4 peanut butter (smooth or chunky- preferably organic)

1/4 cup roasted and salted peanuts (I buy the 50% less salt kind at Trader Joe’s)

2 medium garlic cloves, roughly chopped

1 Tbs. fresh ginger, peeled and roughly chopped

5 Tbs. soy sauce

1 Tbs rice vinegar

1 tsp hot pepper sauce (such as Tabasco- use less if you don’t like spicy)

1/4 to 1/2 cup honey (depending on tastes)

In a food processor or blender puree all ingredients except honey. Add honey a little at a time until the peanut sauce is slightly sweet. Store in fridge (it lasts quite a while).

* Toast sesame seeds in a skillet over medium heat, stirring frequently, until golden and fragrant, about 10 minutes.

If you only have peanut butter you can omit the peanuts and just substitute more peanut butter, preferably chunky.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page