top of page

Pineapple 101: How to choose and cut a pineapple

During the cold, dark winter I long for Hawaii where the sun will warm my bones and I’ll be served piña coladas as I watch the sun set.

Since I live in Seattle and Hawaii isn’t in the cards this year, I’m bringing the tropics to me. Sweet, juicy pineapple is a little bit of sunshine in your mouth. The pre-cut ones are expensive and often flavorless, while the whole pineapple itself seems like a huge undertaking that is better left on the shelf.

In this video I show you how to choose a ripe pineapple at the store (or one that will ripen at home), how to tell when said pineapple is at it’s peak in flavor, and the simplest, fool-proof method to cut a pineapple that only takes minutes to accomplish.


Picture of a knife slicing a fresh pineapple

Did you know?

Pineapple is naturally rich in fiber which helps improve digestion. Pineapple also has a digestive enzyme called bromelain, which is a mixture of proteolytic enzymes. These enzymes work together to help your digestive system break down and absorb proteins from the foods you eat. Additionally, bromelain from pineapple can help relieve stomach aches, heartburn and diarrhea, notes the University of Maryland Medical Center.-1

Aloha!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page